PLENARY

The future of investment

TUESDAY 26 OCTOBER
03:15 pm – 04:00 pm CEST
(09:15 am – 10:00 am EDT / 09:15 pm – 10:00 pm SGT)

Business can lead the transformations required to meet the global challenges we face by creating and commercializing solutions that people need and want. But this has to take place within the parameters of true value creation where social and environmental costs and benefits are internalized and reflected in the relative price of goods and services, and in companies’ P&L statements, costs of capital and market valuations.

Financial services and investment are at the heart of all economic activity. They underpin, underwrite and drive action and outcomes across all sectors. The extent to which these products and services are oriented toward supporting true value creation is therefore critical for driving sustainable growth. This session will highlight how investment strategies are changing, reflect on capital market implications, and highlight where CEO priorities should lie to succeed in this changing business environment.

Click here to add this session to your calendar (please note this does not register you).

Speakers

Peter Bakker

Peter Bakker

President & CEO, WBCSD

Mark Carney

Mark Carney

UN Special Envoy on Climate Action and Finance

Amy Clarke

Amy Clarke

Co-Founder & Chief Impact Officer, Tribe Impact Capital

Ben Keswick

Ben Keswick

Executive Chairman, Jardine Matheson

Mardi McBrien

Mardi McBrien

Managing Director, Climate Disclosure Standards Board

Claire O’Neill

Claire O’Neill

Senior Advisor Climate & Energy for COP26, WBCSD

Today’s sessions

Opening plenary

PLENARY Opening plenary TUESDAY 26 OCTOBER02:15 pm – 03:00 pm CEST(08:15 am – 09:00 am EDT / 08:15 pm – 09:00 pm SGT) Our world is facing three pressing global challenges: the climate emergency, the loss of nature and growing inequality. Each of them, on its own, can...

Plenary: The new business landscape

PLENARY The new business landscape TUESDAY 26 OCTOBER04:15 pm – 05:00 pm CEST(10:15 am – 11:00 am EDT / 10:15 pm – 11:00 pm SGT) To meet today’s pressing global challenges, we need to urgently transform the systems that govern our businesses and societies. These...